13 Dark Tales: Collection Two by Michael R. Martin

The Naked Reviewers
2 min readOct 25, 2019

--

A headless corpse dumped in a field leads to a terrifying insight into the future, a UFO investigator gets more than he bargained for when he tracks down an eyewitness, and bank robbers find something in a safe-deposit box they wish they hadn’t.

Just three of the 13 Dark Tales, many inspired by macabre urban myths and sinister folklore, in this second collection by Michael R Martin.

Read them in the dark hours when they might call to mind a disturbing story you can’t quite place or a strange shape glimpsed from the corner of your eye; things you dismissed as too fantastic to take seriously but left nagging doubts, nonetheless. Some of them may be true.

Sherry Terry’s Review: 4.5-Stars

I found 13 Dark Tales: Collection Two filled with very good short stories! The first story, Druid’s Wood yanked me into the terror by my shirt collar and never let go. The cover is creepy with good color, and it made me want to know more about the book.

The writing flows so smoothly, I felt the snow and smelled the putrid, decaying bodies. Filled with suspense and mystery, each dark tale was a page-turner. I couldn’t put this book down.

Every story is so different from the rest. I found Cold Comfort to be a sweet love story more than a scary story, and The Sweepers Tale had me leaning closer to the page, pulling out my emotions.

Michael Martin has done a splendid job with each tale, and I highly recommend 13 Dark Tales: Collection Two to anyone who likes to read creepy short stories. These stories are different, and I loved every word.

I give the book 4.5-stars for some weaker word choices I think could have been stronger which is an editor thing and did not take away from my enjoyment as a reader.

For more reviews, please run as fast as you can to The Naked Reviewers. We would be honored for you to share your review with us.

--

--

The Naked Reviewers

Where authors expose themselves to book reviews. We do FREE reviews on books in any genre and cater to indie authors. https://thenakedreviewers.com/