A Killer Among Us by Deborah Byington

The Naked Reviewers
3 min readJun 10, 2018

--

“All rookie officer Colby Daniels wants is to prove herself. She hadn’t counted on stumbling upon the town’s first homicide. While working closely with the squad, Colby is attracted to Officer Tom Vitali, the handsome cop with the mischievous smile. But department relationships are forbidden. As the case heats up, so does their relationship. When a fellow officer becomes the third victim, Colby voices her theory, and tensions rage, both in the department and the relationship. Doubts and distrust spread and Colby’s career, reputation, and relationship hang by a thread. Will she risk it all to solve an unconscionable crime?”

RA Winter‘s Review: 5-Stars

A Killer Among Us, by Deborah Byington.

First, I’d like to say that I don’t feel comfortable reviewing Deborah’s book, since I critiqued it and beta read it during production. I will say that I love it. The first chapter still sticks with me and it’s been a year since I’ve read it. In the opening scene, we are brought into a mystery of who killed the nice old lady down the street.

There are a lot of scenes that I remember to this day. That is something, considering that I read a novel a week. Deborah’s descriptions have stayed with me to this day. I loved the mystery and kept bugging the author about who did it? You will too while reading along.

This book takes a lot of twist and turns. It’s a mystery, who-done-it romance that hits all of the right buttons. There’s murder, suspense, romance and the wow factor all wrapped into one.

I loved Colby, and to this day still love the character’s name. Anyone who loves snake-skin boots will love this mystery. The police jargon is spot on. The murderer isn’t ‘oh, it’s him.’ The murder is well thought out and keeps you on your toes until the big reveal.

Grab this book. You won’t be disappointed. Yes, I loved it.

Sherry Terry‘s Review: 4.6-Stars

I really enjoyed reading A Killer Among Us by Deborah Byington. This book is a great example of never judging a book by its cover. While I think the cover does a great job of letting the reader know what kind of book they are getting, I do think it needs some work.

The writing is very strong and done well. Deborah has a wonderful way of setting the scene with great descriptions that make you feel you’re in the middle of the action. This story is very well researched as if Deborah is a police officer herself. The story gives you a great look into procedures, jargon, and a cop’s life.

Tons of intrigue, murder, romance, and a good who done it. I read this in a Word document, so I don’t know if that was the reason there were formatting glitches and a few blank pages. There are a couple of typos and a punctuation error or two, but none of this takes away from the overall experience.

I loved the romance between the main character Colby and Tom. Their interactions are brilliantly done. If you like good cop stories, this is the book for you.

I highly recommend A Killer Among Us. You’ll love it!

For more reviews on A Killer Among Us and to share a review, please head on over to, The Naked Reviewers.

--

--

The Naked Reviewers

Where authors expose themselves to book reviews. We do FREE reviews on books in any genre and cater to indie authors. https://thenakedreviewers.com/