Conjure Moon by Mickie Bolling-Burke

The Naked Reviewers
2 min readAug 22, 2018

--

A celebration of a god older than history. A desperate play for love, fame and power. A gathering of friends to slay the demons of isolation and despair. Conjure Moon tells three terrifying tales guaranteed to keep you inside when the moon is high.

Sherry Terry’s Review: 4-Stars

I enjoyed reading Conjure Moon by Mickie Bolling-Burke did a good job of giving me the creeps with his three short stories. I’m not a huge fan of the cover, it’s a little too dark. The cover does display well as a horror book, I just think it needs some lighter color.

The writing is well-done. There are a few sentences that I feel could be a tad stronger, but this did not take away from my overall experience. I loved the minimalistic style of the first story, it was my favorite of the three. Mickie pulls you right into the weirdness.

Each story is different and dark in its own way, sucking you in and keeping you reading. Conjure Moon is a quick little read that will keep you up if you read it before bed. I recommend this book if you like a quick scare that will stay with you.

RA Winter’s Review: 4.5-Stars

These short stories are great for the horror lover. I listened to this on my phone. It wasn’t that long, but if you love to hide under the covers at night and quiver with fear these are for you.

These would be appropriate for scout night, around the campfire, while waiting on the moon to shine. (Each story is about the moon.) So I’d gather the kiddies around- outside in the dark- quiet woods with the fire the only light for miles. Wait on the moon to rise then start these stories.

The story, plot, action, etc, were excellent. I do think that a few words were used too much and a bit more variation with stronger verbs could have strengthened each piece, but in no way did it take away from the stories- they were very enjoyable.
Grab this one and try it out on the next full moon.

To see more reviews and share your review, please run as fast as you can to The Naked Reviewers.

--

--

The Naked Reviewers

Where authors expose themselves to book reviews. We do FREE reviews on books in any genre and cater to indie authors. https://thenakedreviewers.com/